The Bailiwick of Guernsey has its own constitution, making it almost a self-governing member of the British Commonwealth. On occasions Guernsey's legislation has to be approved by the Queen in Council before it can be enacted locally.

Non-elected States officers:


The Bailiff, R. Collas

Deputy Bailiff, R. McMahon


HM Procureur (HM Attorney General): H. Roberts

HM Comptroller (HM Solicitor General): Ms M. Pullum

(They may address the States but not vote.)


HM Greffier: J. Torode

HM Sheriff: R. De La Mare

The Queen is represented in Guernsey by the Lieutenant Governor, whom she appoints. He is allowed to observe States meetings, but cannot play any part in them. The Royal Court oversees legal matters and is presided over by The Bailiff. The Bailiff is also president of the island's legislative body, The States, which meets monthly and whose members form a number of committees to oversee different aspects of the island's affairs.

The States comprises a total of 45 members, or Deputies, voted in by the electorate of their various electoral districts.

There are two members from the Bailiwick island of Alderney, which has its own States that appoints two members to represent the island's interests in Guernsey.

The structure of the States of Guernsey changed on 12 April, 2000, which saw the election of 12 new deputies to replace the old office of conseiller, which was abolished when it was decided to do away with island-wide elections.

States members voted for a second major change in 2003, when the role of the 10 representatives of the island's parish government, the douzaines, was removed.

This lead to the formation of a new government comprising 45 deputies plus the two Alderney representatives.

A new chief minister heads up this new States, as well as overseeing the Policy Council.

This council comprises 10 deputies (plus the chief minister) who are ministers of the States departments.

While the States as a whole and its committees oversee many matters that affect the entire island, each parish has its own internal governmental structure, known as the Douzaine.

Alderney and Sark have their own governments which, while deferring to the larger island on some matters, can act independently.