Experienced Sarnians aim for five in a row

Sport | Published:

MANY of last year’s key protagonists will be returning tomorrow as Guernsey shoot for a fifth consecutive Under-21 Muratti victory.

Charlton Gauvain, the hat-trick hero of this year's Junior Muratti, was a goal-scorer in last season's U21 Muratti win too. (Picture by Jon Guegan, 24393934)

In fact, coaches Angus Mackay and Tom Strawbridge will travel to Springfield alongside no fewer than 11 of the players named in the squad who won 3-2 at the Track last year.

Rising star Charlton Gauvain scored in that encounter, as did Will Fazakerley, and these two return in a 2019 line-up that also features fellow Guernsey FC men Thomas Dodds and Jordan Kelly.

In other news, Robbie Legg may enjoy some pitch time after working back into good form following a cruciate knee ligament injury that has sidelined him since December 2017.

Assistant coach Strawbridge has seen little need for change ahead of this year’s Ambassadeur Bowl match.

‘This year it will help us in terms of keeping the group they had and to give them consistency,’ he said.

‘It’s good to know what to expect in a game of this magnitude.’

Having been at the helm alongside Mackay since the U21 side began their impressive streak of wins, Strawbridge is hopeful of adding another this year against the Jerseymen.

However, he is reluctant to take individual credit for their impressive run of form.


‘It’s certainly more than we expected when Angus and I first started in the role about five years ago,’ he said.

‘[But] it’s more one for the boys really, for their achievements – they are the ones on the pitch and the ones that are going to achieve.

‘We are not looking at it as a fifth – it’s just another Muratti we want to win.’

The side are well-practised, having faced the Royal Navy U23s and island seniors recently, and highly hopeful ahead of the 2pm kick-off.



Guernsey: Jordan Kelly, Lorcan Smith, Tyler McKane, Thomas Dodds, Colton Fletcher, Louis Graham, Louis Falla, Ben Le Tocq, Ben Bullock, Aidan McKay, Harry Henderson, Charlton Gauvain, Fin Whitmore, Will Fazakerley, Jack Medhurst, Robbie-Joe Legg, Martin Savident, Miles Hardill.

Jersey: Daniel Birrell, Xavier Sundby, Brad Le Mercier, Sol Solomon, Harry Curtis, Sam Masefield, Declan O’Connell, James Carr, Evan Nobes, Max Rivers, Jody Byrne, Jake Prince, Harry Lloyd, Joe Kilshaw, Luca Margaroli, Dane McCormick.


Top Stories


More from the Guernsey Press

UK & International News