Champions Cobo delighted to retain the Rozel Shield

Sport | Published:

COBO finished their Odey Wealth EL Premier season in style on Thursday night as they sealed back-to-back titles.

Cobo retain the Rozel Shield as Odey Wealth Evening League Premier champions for 2019. Back row, left to right: Jonny Warr, Tom Veillard, Kris Moherndl, Max Sharpe, Ben Ferbrache, Alex Bushell. Front: Tim Ravenscroft, Josh Butler, Matt Breban, Will Peatfield, Matt Merrien. (25584277)

Captain Josh Butler starred with the bat, making an unbeaten 58, as his side chased down 111 against Rovers at the KGV with the best part of four overs to spare to win by nine wickets. Kris Moherndl, who made 36 not out, finished off the match with a six.

The reigning champions were already guaranteed to keep possession of the Rozel Shield for another year after season-long title rivals Griffins lost their last game on Tuesday night to Barbarians.

‘For local league I think Evening League One is more important to the guys perhaps than the Afternoon League because it [the Rozel Shield] is prestigious and T20 cricket nowadays is becoming the No. 1 so for the guys to win this in back-to-back years is very pleasing,' Butler said.

‘Everyone has chipped in, which is nice. I guess in past years you look at certain people in certain teams who have had an absolute blinder of a year. I don’t think we’ve had that.

'I think we’ve had numerous performances throughout the year – if someone doesn’t fire then someone else does, which is great.’


Top Stories


More from the Guernsey Press


UK & International News