Guernsey Press

Teenager Thierry makes the grade

SIX men and four women have made the cut for the Guernsey 2023 NatWest International Island Games triathlon squad.

Thierry Le Cheminant competing last month on the Rocquaine course on which he will make his Island Games debut next summer. (Picture by Andrew Le Poidevin, 31200930)

The testing endurance sport is a leader in the race to select teams for next year’s home Island Games, which notably will feature a mixed triathlon relay for the first time.

The Olympic distance race takes place at Rocquaine on Sunday 9 July, while the new seafront relays – where two men and one woman will represent each island – will close the Games.

Individually, Gibraltar 2019 champion Josh Lewis headlines a men’s squad in which 17-year-old Thierry Le Cheminant is among three debutants, while Megan Chapple will lead the women after sealing silver last time out.

Beyond Guernsey’s individual hopes, selection committee lead Mark Naftel is confident in the island’s team medal prospects.

‘We’ve got really strong teams, both male and female,’ Naftel said.

‘Pleased to see that Thierry, who has come through the club from racing as a youngster at school, through junior racing, has qualified as a senior in his own right. He continues to improve and is pushing the other top seniors’ times.

‘We’ve strong medal hopes in both genders in the standard distance event at Rocquaine, – and, with the new team relays at the end of the week on the Town seafront, two showcase events for Guernsey Triathlon.’

Le Cheminant is one of four first-time Games triathletes, the others being Chris Norman, Ove Svejstrup and Chloe Truffitt.

Team manager Alan Rowe expects the home support to give triathletes ‘an extra buzz’ as they fight for team medals.

‘Just getting selected into the Guernsey triathlon team is a massive achievement for the individuals, such is the current strength of triathlon in Guernsey,’ he said.

‘With amazing venues for the individual and relay events, this team and its riches of talent will give our supporters something to cheer on loudly. I can’t wait for it.’

Men: Josh Lewis, James Travers, Thierry Le Cheminant, Dave Mosley, Chris Norman, Ove Svejstrup. Reserves: James Tipper and Mat Dorrian.

Women: Megan Chapple, Chloe Truffitt, Amy Critchlow, Emily Squire. Reserve: Sammy McNaught.