Guernsey Press

Guernsey’s Muratti squads named ahead of Springfield showdown

Three of Vale Rec’s Upton-winning side have made the cut for Saturday’s Muratti Vase final in Jersey.

(Picture by Sophie Rabey, 33232484)

Goalkeeper Chris Povall, winger Jacob Masterton-Pipet and striker Will Fazakerley have been named in the Guernsey squad by joint managers Ryan-Zico Black and Dave Merris, the latter of whom is also in the playing number as he was for the semi-final in Alderney.

While the majority of the 18-strong group are Guernsey FC regulars as expected, there is also FNB Priaulx League representation from the other side of Grand Fort Road in North captain River Marsh and club-mate Keene Domaille, who was among the scorers in the semi-final victory at Mount Hale in March.

The other goals in that 4-1 win came from two Green Lions who will go into the Muratti on the back of having just picked up individual accolades at their club’s presentation night.

Matt Loaring was recognised for his superb season with four awards as he added the coaches’ player of the year, players’ player of the year and fans’ player of the year to the golden boot he knew he would be collecting after leading the way with 17 goals.

Charlton Gauvain, who scored a brace in Alderney two months ago, was chosen as the Manelanders’ player of the year by GFC’s UK-based supporters.

Dave Rihoy is also in the Muratti squad having just announced his retirement from GFC duty.

Meanwhile, all bar two of the Guernsey women’s squad return to Springfield just a fortnight after helping the Green Lionesses to their first piece of silverware when they beat St Peter to win the Colin Welsh Trophy.

One of the additions is Sydney Schreimaier, who is following in the footsteps of Maya Le Tissier and is a member of the Brighton & Hove Albion academy.

Guernsey Muratti Squads

Men: Chris Povall, Josh Addison, Jamie Dodd, Tom Vaudin, Ben Solway, Tom Dodds, Dave Merris, Kieran Mahon, River Marsh, Charlton Gauvain, Jacob Masterton-Pipet, Matt Loaring, Dave Rihoy, Ross Allen, Keene Domaille, Sam Murray, Owen Walbridge, Will Fazakerley.

Women: Kayleigh Marquis, Scarlett Gallagher, Vicki Rang, Aimee Ogier, Scarlett Kenneally, Amy Dallamore, Donna Gallienne, Candice Bougourd, Elise Le Lacheur, Codie Le Flem, Adrienne Leech, Calleigh Hedley, Gracia Van Zutphen, Kirstie Marquis, Sydney Schreimaier, Emma Queripel.