Guernsey Press

A look at the 1966 World Cup team England’s current crop look to emulate

A look back at Alf Ramsey’s team from 1966 as England reach another men’s major final.


England will face Spain in the final of Euro 2024 on Sunday looking to lift a trophy at a men’s major tournament for the first time in 58 years.

Here, the PA news agency takes a look back at the team which won the 1966 World Cup with a 4-2 victory over West Germany at Wembley, with Sir Geoff Hurst now the only surviving member of the side from the final.

Gordon Banks

Goalkeeper Banks won 73 England caps and made 628 club appearances in a 15-year career, winning the League Cup with both Leicester and Stoke. Banks is also remembered for his stunning save from Pele’s header in England’s 1970 World Cup clash with Brazil. After helping Stoke to the 1972 League Cup, Banks lost the sight in one eye in a car crash in October later that same year, which ultimately ended his professional career. He had a brief managerial stint with Telford. In 2016, Banks revealed he was battling kidney cancer for the second time. Banks, who had been Stoke president since 2000, died aged 81 in February 2019.

George Cohen

George Cohen
George Cohen, left, played more than 450 times for Fulham (PA)

Jack Charlton

England v West Germany – 1966 World Cup Final – Wembley Stadium
Jack Charlton, right, later went on to manage the Republic of Ireland (PA)

Bobby Moore

Bobby Moore
England captain Bobby Moore won 108 international caps (PA)

Ray Wilson

Ray Wilson
Ray Wilson, right, had won the 1966 FA Cup with Everton (PA)

Nobby Stiles

The midfield enforcer of Ramsey’s team, Stiles helped nullify the threat of Eusebio in the semi-final against Portugal – and memorably danced on the pitch with the Jules Rimet Trophy after England’s triumph over West Germany. Part of Manchester United’s 1968 European Cup-winning team, Stiles, capped 28 times by England, made 392 appearances for the Red Devils, leaving for Middlesbrough in 1971. A career in coaching followed, with two stints at Preston, before a short-lived tenure at West Brom. Stiles also worked for a spell as a youth team coach at United, helping oversee the development of the renowned class of 92, which included the likes of David Beckham and the Neville brothers. In October 2020, Stiles died aged 78 following a long illness, having previously suffered a stroke, been diagnosed with prostate cancer and later Alzheimer’s.

Alan Ball

Investiture 1966
Alan Ball, centre, became an MBE in 2000 alongside fellow World Cup winners, left to right, Roger Hunt, George Cohen, Ray Wilson and Nobby Stiles (PA)

Sir Bobby Charlton

England Training and Media Day – St George’s Park
Sir Bobby Charlton, left, was presented with an England shirt to mark his 80th birthday in 2017 by current manager Gareth Southgate (Nick Potts/PA)

Martin Peters

West Ham players Bobby Moore, Martin Peters and Geoff Hurst during the England team’s lap of honour at Wembley following the 1966 World Cup final
Martin Peters, centre, played alongside Bobby Moore, left, and Geoff Hurst, right, for West Ham (PA)

Sir Geoff Hurst

England 1966 World Cup winner Sir Geoff Hurst wearing a replica final shirt outside the London Eye
Sir Geoff Hurst is now the only surviving member of the England team from the 1966 final (Dominic Lipinski/PA)

Roger Hunt

Seven of England’s 1966 World Cup winning team, including Roger Hunt, with a replica Jules Rimet trophy on an open top bus
Roger Hunt, front right, won 34 caps for England (John Stillwell/PA)

Sir Alf Ramsey (manager)

Soccer – World Cup England 1966 – England Training
Sir Alf Ramsey remains the only England manager to win a men’s major trophy (PA)
Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.